Theory: everyone is a Rithmatist (they just don't know it)

WayneSpren

it falls on one point, which is the shadowblaze. normal people don't know it exist. so if they escaped from rithmatists, and everybody is a rithmatist, then everybody would see one and they would not be secret.

other than that, it fits with everything and it explains some unlikely coincidences (the chances of four brothers being all rithmatists are one in one thousand billions).

So, if it was a working hypothesis in my work as a researcher, i would rate it unlikely but worth investigating further.

Edited by king of nowhere

• 3 weeks later...
  • 5 weeks later...

I honestly don't think that belief is the main idea of unleashing your Rithmatic abilities. It seems far off from the reality of the world. I think it mainly has to do, if everyone IS a Rithmatist, with oneself not having the qualifying skills or requirements. For example, Melody can draw fantastic chalklings and CAN draw Circles but they are not that good, and yet they work. Joel can draw Circles amazingly but can't draw chalklings well but they don't work. I believe it depends on the skill.

A good shot, but chapter 1 seems to disprove this theory. In it, even Joel is surprised that the lines he drew don't come to life: yes, he "knows" he's not a Rithmatist, but in that moment he was so drawn up into his own story that he forgot, and then felt foolish for forgetting afterwards. If the above theory was correct, then he should have been able to accidentally draw a Rithmatic line.

A good shot, but chapter 1 seems to disprove this theory. In it, even Joel is surprised that the lines he drew don't come to life: yes, he "knows" he's not a Rithmatist, but in that moment he was so drawn up into his own story that he forgot, and then felt foolish for forgetting afterwards. If the above theory was correct, then he should have been able to accidentally draw a Rithmatic line.