Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction!

vineyarddawg

We all knew this would happen eventually. Brandon Sanderson's writing is so awesome, it's beginning to issue harmonics down the quantum strings and altering reality on a base level.

Right now, this manifests as technology being subtly steered towards his more Earth-like stories. Once the third Mistborn trilogy has been finished, the Milky Way galaxy will become a carbon copy of the Cosmere.

it's not new, at least to me (I work in the nucleic acids field). the potential to store inromation in the dna has existed for at least a couple of decades, since we learned to make automatic synthesizers that can assemble strands of dna with good speed and yield.

However, it's not so easy as that.

first, as the article said, there is the cost. those synthesizers require a lot of solvents and reagents to work, and they need to be in very high purity, which makes them very expensive.

Second, reading it is also expensive. you need to degrade those silica shells first, then analyze them. to the best of my knowledge, reading a sequence of dna requires extensive preparation done by highly qualified personnel to do it. You can't just do it on your pc.

Third, we are limited in our capability of making long sequences. those DNA synthesizers have an efficiency that is slightly above 99% for each base added. Try that for 300 bases. Now try that for the 4 million bases it would take to store a single megabyte of infomration.

Fourth, reading it destroys it. the techniques to read DNA all require its degradation. Sure, you can make another copy of it after that, but the cost keeps growing.

Fifth, the time factor. Reading a human-lenght DNA (750 megabytes) takes arounnd overnight. A DNA synthesizer can add one base (2 bits of information) in a bit less than one minute. SO encrypting your data in DNA is going to take a lifetime.