First World Fantasy Convention

I'm going to the World Fantasy Convention in Washington DC in November.  I'm more or less a complete newbie, which is why I'm ever thankful for the Writing Excuses podcast. I'm currently on the second draft of my fantasy-mystery novel. Mainly I'd just like to network with some fellow fantasy writers, though I wouldn't mind the chance to pitch my book to agents and/or editors. Does anyone have any tips on what to expect? This is pretty much my first literary convention, so I'm a little on edge  :blink:

Edited by rdpulfer

Firstly - I have no idea!! I've never been to a convention. There's a very good cast in the Writing Excuses back catalogue on cons and editors, etc. - some good sound advice. Let's see - Season 3, Episode 9 is all I've come up with, I thought there were more.

Anyway, my main reason for posting was to say that there is a thiriving Writing Group on this site in the form of Reading Excuses, if you're interested in submitting material and getting critiques.

Within RE there is an alpha readers thread if you wanted to enlist someone for a complete read through.

There's networking aplenty on RE, albeit it online.

• 2 months later...