Kurkistan

Global Moderators
  • Content count

    4,708
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    33

Kurkistan last won the day on March 30 2014

Kurkistan had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,629 Most Ancient

About Kurkistan

  • Rank
    Catquisitor, Shooter of Aaradel's Ego, Victim of Auotpwail

Contact Methods

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  1. We've got a bit of extra information. List of most of our WoBs on the matter at the bottom of the OP of this thread. As for being half-in-half-out, objects are only ever wholly affected by the bubble or wholly excluded from the effect, depending on some cognitive shenanigans about occupancy. Bubble occupancy I don't believe we have anything on what things in Shadesmar look like.
  2. Yeah it's fine, not too heavy. Just make sure at least one person at the table knows the rules back-to-front before you sit down, and be prepared for a game or two before your group hits its stride (I'd recommend Short games). Though that advice goes for just about any game, to be fair.
  3. I'm not sure. Probably not, I don't think, as they don't apply "directly to you", more temporarily change the rules of the game. Like when TLR comes out and doubles all Favor/Disgrace gains.
  4. I'd need some specific examples. It's laid out in the Steel Ministry faction card: "When a problem card with the STEEL MINISTRY trait erupts or is solved, you may ignore any effects that apply directly to you." So if a STEEL MINISTRY card says "Ruin 1 resource" then you can still target the Steel Ministry player, but they can choose to ignore it. Similarly for any other eruption/solution effect that could be applied to the Steel Ministry player. It's a powerful in-game effect to balance out the relative weakness of their resources. The Steel Ministry player doesn't control anything besides whether s/he is affected by such cards. They can't "decide who gets affected" by them or the like. Note that the STEEL MINISTRY ability applies to both eruptions and solution effects: Minor Revolt adds 1 Unrest when solved (so nothing directly applying to the Steel Ministry player), but has an Eruption effect of "Each House destroys 1 of their resources" which the Steel Ministry can simply ignore while everyone else suffers. No on the Seeker, but I think maybe(?) you're fine last-chance casting cards before resolving eruptions. On page 20 they use Seekers as the example of why you can't just use all your cards in response to someone Seeking you: This game doesn't have a stack like Magic the Gathering, it has a queue. Kind of: while any cards you've said you're playing are queued up and will be resolved after the other Personalities ahead of it, they're still technically in your hand in the interim. Yes. No, this going back to the "Personality cards are resolved in the order they are played, and each must be resolved completely before another Personality card is applied." By the time your Soother would be affecting the problem, it's already erupted. It survives. Hazekillers and Smokers reverse the queue and turn it into a stack, so the most recent Hazekiller haze-kills the older one, which then isn't there anymore to resolve and counter the original Personality card. See page 21. No. Since each card resolves completely before the last, by the time you tried to resolve the second Soother the problem is gone and it either fizzles or goes back to the player's hand, depending on generous you're feeling. Though in this case the second player would probably just choose not to play their Soother after seeing the first do it for them. There's nothing in the rules saying you can't, that I recall. You just can't show the rest of the table to prove you're not a lying liar who lies. Page 15 goes into "May I Show my Hand" and calls out the hand-looking from Seekers as being unique in that it's private between the two players. It's likely more of a strategy and/or House Rules thing, as it may not be to your advantage to share that info and/or your playgroup might get annoyed at you.
  5. Yes. Yes. Of "Sly" Personalities the rulebook (pg 21) says "These are the only cards that may be played after a deal is closed. Sly card effects are applied during Step 3 of closing a deal." So since the end game step isn't part of "closing a deal" I'd say no. No. The Smoker can't change who "You" is, and the Con Artist says "You gain all Favor from solving this problem." I can't find it at the moment, but I believe @Herowannabe offered me a relevant example: If Smokers could change who "you" was for a card, then you'd be able to respond to a Seeker such that you end up looking at and stealing a card from your own hand. If Smokers can change who "You" is then they just become strictly better Hazekillers Up to the player.
  6. 0.7, actually.
  7. It’s finally happened. I’m famous! You can see half of my arm and an entire foot behind the Szeth cosplayer in that picture!
  8. Both is fine.
  9. @HoidonalsiumGot them, thanks.
  10. Option #3 is make the edits and then ping us on this thread pointing to the event and/or entries so we can approve them. We can see/approve suggestions, just not all in one central place, so our attention has to be drawn to them first.
  11. Page is up on Arcanum: https://wob.coppermind.net/events/176-oathbringer-chicago-signing/. OB spoilers, obviously.
  12. @Joe ST I just deleted the footnote, since the transcription's accurate enough. Also you have Arcanist privileges...
  13. @yulerule Done. @Aurimus_ Deleted dup and added tag (also try to avoid double-posting, please) @yurisses Added to relevant entry: it was a second comment thread. @StrikerEZ Transcribed. @ShadowSgt I transcribed the relevant snippet and pointed the footnote at it, though non-staff won't be able to see it just yet.
  14. I don't recall Breaths being lost over time when they're inside people: It's when they're in objects that you have to worry. EDIT: Nevermind, somehow I just missed your parenthetical entirely. The Fifth Heightening grants agelessness without any mention of Breath-loss, for what it's worth, so I've never assumed a gradual loss of Breath for non-Returned.